4040 Thoughts

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

lundysd

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
What does everyone think of the Olympue 4040 as a beginner setup? I'd be using it with an external strobe, but I'm on a budget and want a basic setup to learn on. FWIW, I've been a SLR land photographer for some time, but can't afford that money pit right now :(

Specific Questions

TTL with an Ikelite housing?
Manual White Balance?
Any other concerns?

Thanks

The camera is a good one but long discontinued. Do you already have one?
The Oly PT-010 housing for it is near impossible to find.
Buying an Ikelite housing for it is not a good move IMO. You are buying an expensive housing for a camera that is also near impossible to find should you have to replace it.
Manual White Balance is the way to go for non-strobe shots as the 4040 does not have RAW capability.

If you don't already have the camera or housing I think you are better off looking at a more modern product such as the Oly SP350 and its respective housing or the Canon S80 and its respective housing.

I am using the Oly 4000 with the PT-010 and have two of each so I won't be upgrading for some time.