Advice on life

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mig_diver

Contributor
Reaction score
I have been thinking about and trying to figure out what my next step in life is going to be for sometime now. I now come to the experienced and very wise users of ScubaBoard and ask you all for your opinions and advice.

About me:
- I am 22 years old and currently live in Brisbane, Australia
- I have a degree in mechanical engineering from the Univeristy of Sydney
- I have 6 and a half years of retail experience
- I am currently a DMT with 46 dives and have been diving since I was 15 but only really got into it recently

In life I ultimately want to be happy. Money is not as important to me as enjoying my career is.

So I ask you, is there a way I can utilise my engineering education and mix it with my passion for diving and arrive at a happy medium?

Is it worth me going back to uni and getting a degree in marine science or something similar?

Thank you all in advance for your consideration and advice.

ScubaBoard ROCKS!

So I ask you, is there a way I can utilise my engineering education and mix it with my passion for diving and arrive at a happy medium?

Well, there's possibly some commercial diving where engineering is needed, but given the sort of decompression schedules, bone necrosis and memory problems commercial divers seem to have to put up with I'm not sure I'd want to do that.