Advice & suggestions for first time liveaboard?

Where should I go for first liveaboard?

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tomasharris

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum so I need to apologise in advance is this isn't the appropriate place for this question. I appreciate any and all responses.

This coming early February my Partner and I would like to do our first liveaboard. I've been diving for a few years now (East Coast Australia (Not GBR), Mexico (West Coast), and the Andamans), I have Padi Advanced. My partner she is knew to diving and has recently completed her SSI Open Water.

We've been tossing up a few ideas, which I think might be the problem (spoilt for choice). I'm really after a nice experience (visibility, good weather, easy diving, friendly instructors) over a technical experience. 5 to 7 nights would be optimal (I think, happy to field advice though).

What we have thought about:

1. Similian Islands Thailand

- Con: Many options (some are very expensive (diva andaman) (equivalent price to Maldives)

- Con: Mixed Reviews (overcrowding, poor vis, itineraries not very thorough)

- Pro: Thailand is beautiful and relatively easy to get to from east coast AUS. Lots to do either side of liveaboard.​

2. Phillipines

- Pro/Con: Always wanted to go, but not sure what it's like. (stuff to do either side of liveaboard etc?)

- Pro: Seems well priced. Lots of options

- Bit harder to get too.​

3. Maldives

- Pro: Partner Always wanted to go.