Aqualung Calypso, Sherwood Brut or Cressi XS2/AC2

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dylanshoemaker

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello, I'm fairly new to scuba diving and just recently decided after my 20th dive that I would like to own my own gear. However, being on an extremely tight budget, I realize that I will have to start out with some very basic equipment. So I have narrowed down my considerations to the aqualung calypso, Sherwood Brut or Cressi XS2/AC2 based on the fact that I can get all three with their corresponding octos(which I would like for ease of maintenance) for under 300 dollars. I realize that the design and function of these are very similar and don't expect mid or high end performance out of them, I was just wondering if one is generally considered better performing or more reliable. I only have experience with the calypso and it performed perfect to 100 feet, and my usage of it would likely stay in this range, as well as mostly warmer water diving. I am also from michigan and while I would definitely rent a higher performing reg with dives below 50 degrees, it would be nice if I could use my own for some "relatively" warm great lakes diving. Thanks for your input/suggestions!

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk

I would look at either AL or the Sherwood. Cressi does not have the dealer network in the US the other two have. The Brut and Calypso have unbalanced piston first stages and unbalanced downstream seconds. They are not going to be the best performers.