Attacked by ???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ozziworld

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
I have been diving for around twenty years and personally cannot say I have been 'attacked' by any marine animal. Today, my daughter was diving with me in Anilao in the Philippines and she was attacked by a Titan Trigger Fish. She was attacked also by Titan Triggerfish last year after she was newly certified.

Am curious about what other marine life actually ''attack" divers. What marine animal has actually attacked you with intent to do damage. I mean unprovoked without chum in the water.

I do not count jellyfish stings or other accidental encounters. Just interested in deliberate attacks to do harm to a diver.

I believe the Tita Trigger Fish we encounter frequently, attack because of nests they are protecting in the area.

Please post any experiences that may be of interest in this topic.

I get attacked all the time by damsel fish (who cares?), clown fish (who cares?) and titan trigger fish (I care!!!). I've been attacked three times, only once when I was confirmed to be near a nest. Another time I am certain no nest was nearby and the last time we were a good 40 meters away from the nest and watching a pair chase away any fish within 10 meters when one of them came for us. Titans are the only things I fear underwater and they are the reason those things we wear are called "wet" suits.

trigger fish are known to be territorial

it's best to stay away from them