Backscatter MacroMate Mini Review

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JahJahwarrior

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I've been using this thing for about four months now, but just haven't sat down to write a review yet. I'm impressed enough with it that I think it deserves a few minutes of my time.

For starters, I'm impressed that I haven't broken it. I don't think I've even really scratched it. It's been knocked around on a few boats, back of a car, and all around, and it still looks brand new. I was especially worried about scratching the glass but it is still in perfect shape.

It uses the Flip 3.1 mount, which is relatively easy to put on with an included allen wrench and single screw, and makes it very easy to use two different things on the same dive. I use the macro filter on the side mount, and one of the color filters on the top mount. I keep the other color filters in my toolbox and it just takes a minute to switch if I'm doing a deeper or shallower dive, but I do wish I had spares for the mounting screws as I'm sure I'll lose one eventually.

I really think that this should be part of most GoPro diver's toolkits. I know there are other brands of filters, but the 3.1 system is going to last a lifetime. The macro lens itself is invaluable for grabbing shots of smaller fish. I like the way it's put: this macro lens will help you focus on things about the size of a golf ball. That's quite a lot of the fish in some areas!