BCD differences

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Billg68bg

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm a novice diver with OW cert. I learned to dive with a, I guess, jacket style BCD (wings and back inflates.), and have used the same type for the dives I have made so far. wings and back inflates. A buddy gave me a back inflate BCD that I haven't used yet.

Is there a major difference between the two, as far as performance and buoyancy? Or anything else I may not yet know about?

Can you tell us the brand and model of these BC's?

The jacket ones I used and learned on were all Aqua Lung, I believe. Don't know model. The one I currently own is a SeaQuest Pro QD.

What kind of diving do you plan on doing? Cold water? Warm Water? Travel? Local? Saltwater?

Just some clarification of terms (which can get fuzzy!):

Jacket BCD - the aircell is the whole vest (or nearly so) and wraps around you. That puts some of the air in front of you when fully inflated. Helpful if you want to have your head and neck fully out of the water at the surface, but means the air cell will also hug or squeeze you as it inflates. It's also just a lot of "Stuff" on the front of your body (built in pockets and such).