Becoming an Instructor..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gary_b

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi Guys,

Just wanted to ask a of quick questions,
I'm pretty new to diving, I've done just over 30 dives along with my AOW cert, I'm signed up for rescue next week.
I would be looking at doind the IE in october (if i feel 100% confident by then) and getting MSDT certified after that.
I'm absolutely obsessed with diving and it only seems right that I should do it for a living... BUT

I'd me moving to New Zealand after my IDC does anyone know what the chances of me landing work there would be?

Can you actually make a livable income from diving?

Would there be any other courses you could recommend to make me more employable?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I have already had a chat to a few people at my LDS, just wanted a few more opinions.

Cheers,

Have a great New Year! :)

Decide who you'd want your instructor to be, and make sure you can be that person before taking ITC. Do the same as an employer.

Dive instruction is different around the world; if your goal is to work in NZ as an instructor, you might find it more worthwhile to do the ITC there.

Try to stick around your LDS as an OWSI/MSDT prior to heading out. Serves you that much better if you have some experience rather then as a freshie out of IDC with only paper MSDT ratings.

Try to spend a bit more time around your DMT - that's where the real learning takes place. IDCs/ITCs are mainly courses on how to sell these days IMO.