Becoming an Instructor..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Gary,

Just let me address these last couple of posts again. Nobody here would want to discourage you from following this dream, the advice you're getting is with respect to the intended tempo, not with the goal you've set for yourself. We can all related to your passion for diving.

R..

I finished my Divemaster program in August and last week was asked to join an Instructor program in February. I just did my 175th dive a few minutes ago, and have about 15 specialities between SSI and PADI. I think it's too soon for me to move up to Instructor. Thirty dives so far? Slow down and learn something along the way.

First welcome aboard!

Listen to these people,they know what they are talking about. I had/have an opportunity to dive with some seriously skilled people. Wow, talk about an eye opener! I was super flattered when one of them (they are all instructors by the way) asked/suggested that I move on to DM or AI. I've been diving for around 30yrs and just got serious in the last 7. Be patient and listen. HTH

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

---------- Post added December 30th, 2012 at 03:39 PM ----------

FWIW I just now completed my AOW, I've never felt the need to check boxes. Nitrox next week, dry and deep next weekend (SDI).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk