Best strobe for an Olympus E-PL6?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Miffy

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi, I just bought an Olympus E-PL6 and am looking for a Housing and Strobe set.

I'm also a newb when it comes to UW Photography.

I'm looking for advice for a good 1 strobe set-up (that allows me to expand to 2 in the next 2-5 years or so when I get more comfortable with UW photography).
I've heard good things about INON over Sea and Sea, however I'm seeing lots of packages for an entire UW kit that includes the Sea and Sea YS-01 strobes. Why is that?

Also, what's the difference between the flexible arms and rigid arms? Is one better than the other? I'm assuming the flexible arms allow for easier movement when adjusting your strobe?

I've also been searching high and low for the Olympus EP-PT10 Housing but haven't found a good price lower than $700. Anyone have any advice?

Looking to buy in the next day or so! :)

Being somewhat new with strobes my self I can tell you that the flex arm will not give you as much adjustment as the ridid( if you are talking about the ball joints) arms. I used my wifes after her strobe crapped out and I was able to get the strobe where I needed it instead of "in the neighborhood" with my flex arm. Hope this helped some.