Black Water and Big Animals

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LioKai

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
OK Brian here it is.

Let me start by saying that I've been doing black water dives for a about 5 years or more and I have personally never seen any big animals on the dive, but lets face it, we are drifting as much as 3 miles in one hour out beyond the 1000 fathom line. The same area that the big game fishing charter boats call "The Grounds". Well, actually I try to stay a little south of "the grounds", but sometimes we drift somewhat farther north than I would like.