Canon S100

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

luk

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to underwater photography, and considering buying a Canon S100. I just want to take nice pictures of big or small animal. I don't need them to be professional quality.

I don't know much about camera either, but I've been researching the S100. If I were to use the S100 and the canon housing, will I see fish eye effect or vignetting? I'm just not sure what I should buy along with this camera. By the way, when do you need a wet lens? I read these posts and still don't quite understand. http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/ca...-ikelite-housing-af35-strobe.html#post6274994 and Wet lens [Archive] - ScubaBoard - Scuba Diving Forum - Diving Social Network.

Thank you

I have an S100 with a FIX housing, but just bought a Cannon housing and will also buy a second S100 for small trips without wanting to lug the aluminum housing and all the bells and whistels. Prices for the S100 are so much lower now that it's worth having 2. Vignetting only occurs if you are using a wide angle lense that has it on it's widest setting. Just zoom in one stop and it goes away. You can grow into the S100. My first trip I did just the basics with mostly automatic settings. Second trip, used my flash and video light much more and went to manual settings. Next trip, I'll shoot RAW.