Can't decide what Mares Quattro size to keep

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

amc

Reaction score
I have a pair of open heel Mares Quattro fins in size regular and small...I have pros and cons about both and cant seem to decide ... The problem is that I'm a complete rookie and I have no idea what too look for... I cant test these in the water and I could only imagine that it can change everything .... Maybe you guys/gals can help me out ... I'm a 9 1/2 sometimes 10 shoe size and using some old 3mm Tusa booties...

Size Regular "Pros.
1. Foot goes right in
2. Feels comfy almost like I'm not wearing fins
3. Foot goes in deep ( heel sticks out about 1 inch), the top of the fin pocket goes up the top of my foot nicely...
"Cons
1. I have to strap the straps all the way
2. the front of my foot can wiggle a little side to side inside the pocket

Size Small "Pros
1. Foot goes right in
2. It feels nice and snug like if my foot was part of the fin
3. It wont wiggle side to side
4. Still have about 1/4 of the straps left
"Cons
1. Foot goes a little less deep ( heel sticks out about 2 inches ) and the top of the fin pocket doesn't go as far up the top my foot (about 1 inch difference)...
2. I dont think I can wear anything thicker than these booties ( even though these old tusa's are preatty thick) maybe they can feel a little too snug after a few hours?