Computer choices - new diver with high aspirations

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JCope3

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all,

I'm in the market for a dive computer. I'll admit, it's my first one and I don't have a lot of experience yet, but I know where I want to go with diving, so I want a computer that is a good computer for now, but is a natural predecessor to a much more complex computer in the future.

I'll explain:
I'm fairly new to diving - ok very new to diving - but I already know that I have a future in it as a career in some capacity. I've already been doing quite a bit of research, trying to build up my knowledge base, and I'm working (slowly but surely) on gaining the practical experience underwater as well. I don't like to rush things, so I'm making sure I have more than enough comfort before I try to progress with certifications. That said, my ultimate goal (in terms of certification) is technical diving with CCR. I know it's going to take a LONG time to get to that point, but that's where I want to go.

I say that to say this: I don't want to invest in a Shearwater or something of that caliber just yet, because by the time I reach the point where I can actually use all of its functions (a few years at least, I'm sure), there will probably be a newer version or something on the market at that time, and that's what I'll want to go for then.