Destination Diving: Anilao

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mjgoodman

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi,

I'm strongly considering a trip to the Philippines in February. I'm debating between Anilao, Dumaguete and Malapascua because I only have ten days. My question is this: how does Anilao stack up against Lembeh? Is Anilao, by itself, a destination dive site like Lembeh? I am a beginning UW Photographer.

I've been incredibly spoiled having dove Raja Ampat, Bali, Komodo, Lembeh and Bunaken. If I'm going to fly across the pacific, I want to make sure the diving is worth it. I'd love to hear from all the "Asia Experts." Thank you.

"Asia Experts"!! Certainly not me.
Lembeh is unqiue and so are those three places that you had mentioned. I am yet to visit Raja and Komodo but the other three places in Indonesia are fine but Philippines is THE place.
Anilao is only 3-4 hrs by car from Manila while the other two will require at least one domestic flight(Dumaguette) and more(Malapascua).
PAL fly directly from Honcover to Manila and you can recover from the jet lag in the comfort of the resort within few hrs after the plane touch down.
Malapascua probably can offer one thing that Indonesia could not ie. Thrasher Shark.
On your next visit to the country, please consider Tubataha(liveaboard only from mid Mar to mid June).