Dive Clubs/Shops in San Diego Area

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

PrincessOfPower

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hey All,

I am new to the San Diego area and am looking to find a dive community. Any suggestions on great shops to go through, or clubs to join?

Any shops to avoid...or clubs to avoid, for that matter (PM me if you wish).

Any recommendations for course directors (I would like to do my IDC staff, but only with the right person)?

Any recommendations for tech instructors?

Finally - any San Diego instructors willing to answer a few very brief questions about what its like teaching here? I am PADI. I desperately miss teaching, but since (like many) its just a side job for me, I am a little unsure if its going to be worth it to pay my dues and get insurance. Specifically, I am wondering...

- Do shops tend to just churn out certs here?
- What are the locally accepted ratios of students/instructors? Back in BC everyone did 4/1, or so (not the worldwide PADI standard of 8/1)
- What's the pay like (no need for specifics, although those would be sweet to know, I just want to know what the likelihood of me earning back my dues and insurance if I am just a part time/casual instructor really is...)
- Is the enough instructing work to go around? Back in BC (where I am from), despite the economic downturn, it seemed like there were never quite enough instructors.
- How are divemasters generally utilized here?

Thanks in advance to anyone with an opinion they feel like sharing!