Diving and Diabetic Retinopathy?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jon677

Registered
Reaction score
Hello Everyone...

I have been diving since 1988 and am an SSI certified Master Diver. I have been an insulin dependent diabetic since 1980. I have been unable to dive for the past 3 years due to constant struggling with Diabetic Retinopathy (abnormal growth and rupturing of tiny vessels in the eye leading to internal bleeding, visual obstruction, and if untreated/unlucky, eventual blindness). Pressure changes (both internal/body and external/water) are a concern. Most of the forces would be compressive but I'm concerned about the release of the compressive forces on ascent coupled with the potential blood pressure increase due to exertion. I think I have the condition controlled at this time and want to get back in the water. My eye doctor says to go ahead and try. Are there any others out there who are dealing with stabilized Proliferative Diabetic Retinopathy and diving? Any comments or experience would be welcome.

Thanks,

Jon

Jon,
I am a clinical prof. at colleges of optometry and medicine. What level of diadetic retinopathy do you have? That will help in making a recommendation. Remember since I have never seen you and am not your Dr. may advice is not as accuarated for your specific condition as your own Dr. I can only give you general knowledge and explainations. If you only have mild NPDR you should be safe.