Diving in threes

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

newdiverAZ

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi i just read a post that mentioned diving in threes. I'm new to this and not certified yet, but curious if this is an acceptable practice. I ask because I'll be taking my wife and 11 yr old nephew diving and wondered what you would do in emergency situations. Is it better to have my nephew dive with a divemaster each dive?? would appreciate any insight into this

Thanx
Brian

You really pose two separate questions here. Diving in threesomes is perfectly fine, so long as you brief who's expected to do what in both normal and emergency situations.
Now, the 11 year old is a different matter entirely. As a child, an 11 year old is not a full fledged buddy - diving with one is essentially diving not only solo, but with added responsibility to ensure childish exuberance doesn't override sound and safe diving practices. Many children are excellent divers - but they are still children and subject to childish inattention to detail.
When I train children with parents, I train the child to be a buddy, but train the parent to remain a parent. Under the agency I use (SSI) an 11 year old must dive with a certified parent, legal guardian or dive leader (DM, DiveCon, Assistant Instructor or Instructor), and is restricted to a maximum depth of 40 feet. Unless you are the legal guardian of your nephew, you'd have to wait 'til he's 12 to dive with him under SSI standards.
Rick