Diving without problems - Is it possible?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bogrady

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm a newbie to this sport and totally hooked. This board has been an immense help to me in learning how to do it right and in preparing me for what might go wrong. There seems to be a lot of posts describing some pretty hairy underwater emergency situations. I’m thankful that you all take the time and effort to post them, and even more so the time and effort to honestly critique and analyze the event. So far none of the horror stories have scared me of continuing to dive - but I'd like to ask this question -

Is there anyone out there that has simply enjoyed years and years of trouble free, enjoyable diving? I'm not talking about the odd O ring failure (had that happen to my buddy/son on our 12th dive), but I'm talking about those life threaten - do or die - one bad decision and I'm toast kind of problems.

I can live with the occasional minor emergency, but I'd like to think that it is possible to log 50+ dives every year for the next few decades without a required near death experience.

bogrady:
I can live with the occasional minor emergency, but I'd like to think that it is possible to log 50+ dives every year for the next few decades without a required near death experience.

So far 200 dives with none but minor problems.