Does nitrogen narcosis mimic alcohol use?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mikerault

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Do the physiological effects of nitrogen narcosis mimic those of alcohol? Or is that just a gross over simplification of the true effects?

Mike

Yep, pretty much. The same, I mean.

It's not a conclusive study, but in college (I worked as an Instructor at a University with a chamber) all of us instructors met at the chamber on weekend, and made some trips to 120' to get narced. Then, safely back out of the chamber, we had a couple martinis until the alcohol effect was about the same as being narced. The testing sample was small, only 8 particapents as I recall.

Thus was born "Martini's Law", which states every 60 fsw is the equivalent to 1 martini.

Yep. Except for the hangover, about the same.

All the best, James