'em strobes, 'em strobes

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ian T

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
Being a total newbie when it comes to uw photography (depending mostly on luck...)..
been thinking about getting a wireless strobe for my dig cam...

Know as much about 'em as rosie the cow about orbital space flight...

errr...help?

Ian T:
Being a total newbie when it comes to uw photography (depending mostly on luck...)..

Know as much about 'em as rosie the cow about orbital space flight...

errr...help?

What is your budget?

RonFrank:
What is your budget?

is it more of a budget question or feature thing? i am also a total newbie and dont know squat about strobes. i know more will be better but will a $350 strobe take dramatically inferior pics over a $500 strobe? or would the $500 strobe just have more features?

Spoon:
is it more of a budget question or feature thing? i am also a total newbie and dont know squat about strobes. i know more will be better but will a $350 strobe take dramatically inferior pics over a $500 strobe? or would the $500 strobe just have more features?

Light is light!!!

A flash does ONE thing, fire light at something.

Factors to consider are TTL, recycle times, coverage, battery life, manual settings, slave options, and well a lot of other STUFF that I'm sure I have forgetten to remember!!

The basic job of a strobe is simple, but how it works with any given camera is the key.