Equalizing problems

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Manatee Lover

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to diving just got cert OW last weekend. It was great.Can't wait to do it again. MY problem is..I flew down on Thursday, Did 2 dives on Friday, snorkeled with the manatees Saturday morning, did my last 2 dives Saturday around lunchtime and flew home on Sunday afternnoon. During my 2nd dives on both Fri & Sat I had alot of difficulty with equalization but not on the first dives on both days. I came home with a raging ear infection. I do not believe I had this prior to diving , felt fime until Sunday morning.Dont know if equalizing problems caused the ear infection, , or flying or snorkeling or what. Just wondering if Im going to have problems on second dives all the time. I know Im rambling but just a little concerned that this going to be a problem whenever I dive. Anyone have any comments, they would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Colleen:)

you won't always have problems like this. Just speculating that you may have developed some inflammation which resulted in the difficulties with clearing. Maybe you over pressurized your ears a bit or forced fluids through the Eustachian tubes while equalizing.

Make sure you are clearing early and often and descend slowly enough to allow you to equalize easily.