First liveaboard trip

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pughio83

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi all,

I am fairly new to liveaboards having only done a couple of 2 -3 day trips, but am looking to go with my friend in oct/november somewhere. I am a Dm with approx 200 dives (pitiful i know) and am looking for a good liveaboard trip, approx 10days if poss, on a nice boat (doesnt have to be 5 star but i dont really want a tin bucket),to somewhere with great diving, that has ideally good macro and a chance of some bigger stuff. Is this possible? i dont know? of course i know lembeh, raja ampat, ambon all have good macro. I have been looking at komodo as there seems to be a mix of the two.

If anyone has any ideas for a oct or nov trip it would be greatly appreciated to hear them as i am only used to land based diving and its not easy picking the right trip.

cheers

I'd look at the Palau Aggressor since great diving would be my first priority. Some macro, tons of big stuff. Very nice boat and great staff. They know photography and will treat you and your gear right.

My Komodo liveaboard trip was a little bit short on pelagics and sharks. We did see some, but not many. If they are a key ingredient to your enjoying the trip, Palau is a much safer bet, in my opinion.