Funny story but lesson learned *long*

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dakker

Registered
Reaction score
Hey, I haven't posted yet on these forums, I've just been browsing, but I figure this is a great way to get started.

I've been diving for 5 years now, with probably.. 20 dives or so, I don't keep a log. I also don't have my own equipment, I'm 22 going through college, so I'm always broke. A buddy of mine had just finished his open water cert. Last July 4th, we decided it would be a great day to bring him on his first dive since his training. We live in Pensacola, FL, which is about 5 minutes from the Gulf of Mexico.

Of all my dives, this wasn't the worst, but it was pretty close. I went to the LDS to get my stuff. My buddy met me at the LDS, this is when I learned he had his own equipment. So he just pays to have his tank filled and we are on our way. We get to the beach, carry our stuff the 100yds to the shore, and start to set up. Immediatly I realize we are going to have problems. He doesn't have a BC, all he has is a little strap that holds the tank to his back. I point that out to him and he said it works fine for his pool. Knowing full well this is a whole different ball game, I dismiss it. Long story short, he wasn't at all equipped to do the dive, but we went anyway.