Gabe Watson acquitted in AL murder trial

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ken Kurtis

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
5000 - ∞
Oh. My. God. I am stunned. Not so much that he was acquitted had the jury found him not guilty (it was probably going to be tough to prove beyond a reasonable doubt anyhow) but that the trial was stopped by the JUDGE who directed a verdict of acquittal because the State failed to prove it's case.

I'm not a lawyer (and maybe Bruce or others can weigh in) but it seems to me that the State blew it in their presentation of the case. I've followed news reports as closely as I can and, as far as I can tell, the State offered NO expert testimony from someone like Bill Oliver, Glen Egstrom, Brett Gilliam, me, or others who do this regularly as to why just looking at the scuba circumstances and facts of the case, you can make (IMHO) a pretty strong argument that this was not an accident. And I would think you first have to establish that he did the deed before you go into motive, which seems to be all they focused on (insurance money).