Golden Algae Bloom--Fish Kill is ON

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

skeet

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Dove at Possum Kingdom Lake on Thursday, first thing I noticed were flocks of birds all around the lake, walked out on the pier and notice quite a few dead and dieing fish and then you notice a slightly different coloration to the water. The shop owner came out and said she had heard a couple of days prior that it was starting. I am not experienced with regard biology and such but it does appear that it is happening again.

Probably related to the weird warm spells we're having.

skeet:
Dove at Possum Kingdom Lake on Thursday, first thing I noticed were flocks of birds all around the lake, walked out on the pier and notice quite a few dead and dieing fish and then you notice a slightly different coloration to the water. The shop owner came out and said she had heard a couple of days prior that it was starting. I am not experienced with regard biology and such but it does appear that it is happening again.

Anyone have a dissolved oxygen meter? Like Archman said, weather changes can cause "turnovers" in lakes where nutrient rich, oxygen poor bottom water comes to the surface. Check it at dawn for the lowest point of the day. But it may be already past the low point and on its way back up.

Hank49:
Anyone have a dissolved oxygen meter?
Ha ha.