GoPro Labs for Scuba

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cmrangel

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all,
Sorry in advance for a long post. Up front, I am not an expert on GoPro Labs, this is really my first effort. For some background, GoPro labs is a way to configure GoPros using QR codes. It is mainly focused on GoPros 9 thur 11. It now also supports simple scripting. I am not going to make this a tutorial on using GoPro Labs. You can find out more at https://gopro.github.io/labs/

Exposure Control
I almost always dive with a GoPro. I like the GoPro because it is simple and small. But, I have suspected that the exposure curve for the GoPro was biased toward fast shutter speeds and higher ISOs. For diving, I rarely have fast action but often have very dim light. This has always resulted in more noise that I would like, especially at depth where there is little light and higher ISOs are required.

I saw the Labs Extensions page (https://gopro.github.io/labs/control/extensions/) and tried MEXPS=1 which shows ISO and shutter speed overlay on the screen. I looked at these values and discovered that the GoPro does indeed favor higher shutter speeds and therefore higher ISOs than I would like to see while diving. For example, even with good light I was seeing shutter speeds over 1/300 while the ISO was up at 400. I would have much preferred lower ISO and slower shutter. This was even the case with stabilization turned off.