Hacking the m.zuiko 12-50 to get accesible macro in any house

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

EskilJ

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi

I'm working on a solution to use mu 12-50 in my e-pl1 olympus casing.
I'm a senior electronics engineer, and tend to modify things (hardware) to my liking..

The target is to make macro switchable by an external magnet - like how many dive lights are controlled.

Well, I've examined the hardware and found the macro mode can be accessed by shorting two points on the PCB in the lens:
12-50mod.jpg

(sorry for the very large sized image)
Point#2 is 3.3V (through 75Kohm) when not in macro mode, and in macro mode it is tied to point 1 or 3 (low)
This means you can go from motor zoom mode to macro mode by shorting those points. And it works.
You should not do it in manual zoom mode, as the zoom motor doesn't like to draw the zoom ring. I've tried it, it didn't damage, but I didn't like the sound..

I've bought a "Coto technology CT05-1535-G1" reed relay to put inside the lens, the make the macro triggerable by a magnet from outside the UW-housing. There is a nice hole in the top of the lens, where it seems like it can be put. The worry here is if it can be triggered by magnet fields from motors in the camera or lens. I have not tried this yet.

When going into macro (connecting the two pionts), the zoom is automaticly adjusted to 42mm. When leaving macro (disconnecting), it will go to 42mm normal mode - not back to the old zoom level.