Hello everyone new and having trouble

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubanurse

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello everyone,
I am new to diving and new to this board. I have been reading the forums for several weeks and have found alot of encouraging messages. I am currently enrolled in the padi ow class. I am taking the class with my spouse. Scuba diving was my idea and I had to talk him into it. He likes it and is doing well took to scuba like a fish out of water. I on the other hand have had several problrems, not the first of which is fear of water. I had a terrible time in the pool at first, panicked shot to top several times etc. I have managed to get over my fear in the pool and have passed confined water and written test. When we went to do our open water dives I was horrified to get in the water over my head. With the help of my instructor and husband I managed to get to the platform and complete some of my skills check offs. When we went in for our 2nd ow dive we had to swimm out to a bouy and ascend down a line. The whole time I was doing my surface swim I felt like I was drowing and couldn't breath. I am sure this was related to anxiety. I finally it made down the line and onto the platform, visibility was very poor and it got cloudy which made it worse. I got very scared but did not panic. I managed to perform bcd removal and replacement and buddy breathing. Then my mask started to leak. I would clear it but it would instantly start leaking again. The instructor had us go back up th