Hollis SMS 50

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Baracuda Smile

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
I am seeking information those who have dove the Hollis SMS 50.

I am a tech 50 meter diver, and there are some small changes to the SMS 50 that I would like to make. I do not want to void the warranty.

For instance both the shoulder buckles and the waist D rings I would like to change to bigger and welded D rings and add two more sets.
Next is the chest strap which I am not found of, I can see that it helps to keep the LP inflator where it can be reached. Can this be removed or is it critical to keeping the tanks close into the body?
I have heard that the bungies are to stiff, opinions, do they get better with time, or do they need to be replaced?
I would prefer a bit longer LP Inflator hose as I have to strain to orally inflate the BCD, and with a Dry Suit it could be difficult.
I would like to add weight pockets to the shoulders.
The Hollis SMS 50 has 23lbs of lift has anyone tried using two 80's mains with 2 x Alum 40's for deco gas?

My plan is to use the SMS 50 Tech Wreck diving in the remote Pacific where they often do not have tech setups for rent, and the costs for excess baggage on airlines can cost as much as your plane ticket.
Sidmount with SMS 50 will allow me longer bottom times, and to penatrate wrecks especially through the narrow hatches.