How much Nitrox is too much?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Selachimorpha

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi there,

There is a question I would like to open up to discussion regarding Nitrox.

I am a full time diving instructor and dive guide. For me this means that I do about 50 to 60 dives a month on average. I will normally dive for 6 days during each week and have one dry day, but sometimes it ends up being longer without time out of the water. If I am guiding I tend to do more dives than while I am teaching, so it varies a lot. Guiding I am normally doing 3 a day.

I use Nitrox 32% on every dive. The maximum depth of these dives is 30 meters, so Nitrox 32% is an ideal gas for this application. I have worked at other dive operations in other countries in the past where there was no or very limited Nitrox available. Where this was the case I was doing the same kind of diving on air, and let me tell you that Nitrox really makes a huge difference. Now I am diving to the air NDLs breathing Nitrox and I feel a whole load better, something you don't realise until you experience the change for yourself. I am refering to this strictly from the perspective of a pro doing the volume of dives that I am, it makes a massive difference. So far, so good!