I am having 'issues' with my spouse over wanting to continue scuba diving (long)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

victoriawtx

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to diving, and just got OW certified. I absolutely LOVE it, but I am feeling bummed and a bit selfish. I got certified while we were on vacation and it took most of the whole week we were gone. I kind of just 'fell' into it, I hadn't planning on getting certified before we left. I just saw a dive shop, went it, and that was it! LOL My husband didn't join me because he is afraid of ear pain. He says he gets it very bad and has trouble equalizing. I am not sure if he couldn't fix this if he learned to right techniques. Anyways, so I feel guilty for spending most of our vacation in the pool and ocean (even though I loved it!) away from him. He was supportive of me getting certified and nice about it, although I know he is a bit resentful and mad at me for spending my vacation with him doing all of this. I wish I could include him, but I don't want to force the issue. Now I want to learn more and dive more (which is totally dreaming since I am a grad student with not much money!). Every time I talk about it he gets quiet. I feel bad that I can't share this experience with him. Any advice or suggestions on how I should deal with these issues? Should I just lay low and not talk about diving too much? He is supportive of me diving and continuing to dive although it is expensive. I would greatly appreciate any advice as to how I can keep my marriage