I need your advice...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

happyfish

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello all,

I am a newbie who has started doing some research on equipment and what to buy, and I have to say that all the advice and the people on this board are great. This thread is neither meant to inflame or offend, I just have a few questions and would like some advice (and hope I don't sound too stupid)...

I have been looking at the prices of stuff off a RRP price list from my LDS, online, and from dive stores in other countries who will ship or you can mail order/online order from etc.

What I have found is that I can get regs / computers / BCD's etc for a substantial amount cheaper at everywhere else, not just online but from actual stores overseas. When I say cheaper I am talking over a thousand dollars for a reg/computer combo (NZ$). Plus some of the models are not yet even available in NZ e.g. Apeks ATX200 or ATX40, ATX50 octopus.

The thing is I really like the guys at my LDS, and would love to buy from them and support them etc, and would be willing to pay more for the service they provide, but I am still a student and it would be cheaper for me to fly overseas, buy the gear and then fly back (perhaps getting a dive or two in while I was there).