iX3m and GPS

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gr8jab

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all,

I'm quite frustrated. As an engineer, I've tried to analyze all possible explanations before I call BS. Maybe others here can help.

Situation

Local DM and shop owner claims that his iX3m GPS works underwater. He claims it has pointed him back to the boat (which he previously marked with a way-point), accurately at depths as deep as 15 feet, and maybe even deeper.

The GPS screen on the iX3m includes GPS strength and satellite lock count. He claims he's never looked at these readouts and cannot confirm or deny signal acquisition below the surface.

Known
  • The iX3m supports several satellite networks, including the USA, Russian, and Chinese.
  • All these networks use 1.2 to 1.6 GHz RF frequencies.
  • Assuming no reflection of the signal at the surface (which is almost impossible, even at if the satellite is directly overhead), signals of that frequency would penetrate less than 1 meter of salt water.
  • iX3m has an internal compass
  • iX3m has some tilt sensors, as described in the Apps Manual
  • The user manual specifically states:
"It is necessary to come to surface to allow the iX3M to link to satellites; the GNSS signal doesn’t cross the water’s surface." and "To save battery the satellite connection is active only when GPS App is running."