Learning to Dive in TX

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sham_ba_la

Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I'm very new to the diving scene and actually just getting ready to sign up for my first classes... :D

I live in the Northern DFW (Texas) area so any suggestions you may have for me on starting out are truly welcome because I'm still pretty lost on a lot of things pertaining to diving...:confused:

Welcome to the board Sham_ba_la!

Think you'll find a lot of useful info here. If you have any questions, folks here are always happy to help!

Howdy and welcome to diving in Texas! So where in the metroplex do you live? There are shops in Ft Worth, Arlington, Colleyville, all parts of Dallas, Richardson, Carrollton, Frisco....etc.

Do you have a certain certifying agency in mind? PADI, NAUI, SSI, SDI??? Or do you even care as long as you learn to dive?

Do you know how to swim....have any issues with water that you might need some special help or assistance with?

And finally....do you prefer a female or male instructor? Private or semi-private lessons or just the regular group lessons.

No matter what the answer....we can help you out.

Wreck Wench

I'm actually in the Frisco/Mckinney area, but plan on taking classes at a place in Plano which will be close to work for me and on the way home.

As for instructors I don't mind if it's male or female, I have no preference. On the certification, what's the differences if any?