New to diving, looking to get some information on the theoretical side.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

any name you wish.

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Hello everyone, I'm new to both diving and this forum.

I'm from Belgium and we don't really have that much of an active dive scene here as far as I can tell. My only experience so far, is that I've been following channels like dive talk on YouTube for a while and I used to spend some time freediving but nothing crazy. (I think something like 7m must have been my deepest dive with a static apnoea of 2:30min at the time) as well as a summer spent snorkelling in Tuscany. I'm fairly comfortable in the water.

I'm currently looking for a good place to learn how to dive that is near me, which has proven difficult. Given the weak shoreline that my country has to offer that shouldn't come as a surprise. Most of the dive clubs I see have pictures of people on their knees in a pool and from what I could gather from dive talk this is a sign they are putting too much weight on the divers. Maybe I have been misinformed, but with the current knowledge that I have I sort of treat it as a red flag. (feel free to correct me if this is just noob-think).