Line Pulls

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rspdiver

Registered
Reaction score
This question has probably already been asked, but I'm new to the Scubaboard so I'll ask again...

Are there "standardized" line pull signals from diver to tender and tender to diver? (standardized meaning one way public safety divers across the country should be taught)...

here's the problem: If one school teaches one way and another school teaches different line pulls coupled with each dive team having their own line pull signals...well thats a problem on joint operations with different teams...

Just curious....any input would be greatly appreciated!

rspdiver

I just looked for a prior thread but didn't find it.

We use OATHS

..........Pull...........Tender to Diver..........Diver to Tender
O..........1.....................OK?........................OK!
A..........2..................Advance.................Advance
T..........3..............Take Up Slack...........Take Up Slack
H..........4.................Come Here...............Here it is
S..........5.................Surface..................Send help

Anything more than 5 is get my butt out of here now.

Gary D.

We use a four signal system...
Pulls...........Tender to Diver..........Diver to Tender
1.....................OK?........................OK!
2........stop, change direction........give slack
3................Surface.....................I found it!
4.........Danger stay on bottom........Send help