Lobster catching gloves that last

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

divedownunder

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Im from NZ we call them crayfish here, I catch them by hand, Im just new to diving and hunting, I tired some performance diver gloves and already the rubber on the finger tips has come off abit from wrestling with the crays wedged in the holes and crevices.

What do you use for catching by hand and are there any good gloves that will last abit longer?

Any tips for catching by hand?
I got 5 resonable sized ones on Monday but had to follow them all into there holes and get them that way.

We have red spiny crays here in NZ. I always eat the whole thing tail legs and bodys, very nice... why does it seem not many of the other hunters eat the bodys?
Seems very wasteful to me

Cheers Rich

I eat the thorax and leg meat :9

I would get a pair of kevlar lined gloves. I have tried SeaSoft's Pro Edge Titanium 3mm. Awesome gloves. My first pair held up about a year of heavy use until a bit of the seams came unravelled. The material itself was fine though. So I just restitched them and all is well again :)

divedownunder:
What do you use for catching by hand and are there any good gloves that will last abit longer?

We have red spiny crays here in NZ. I always eat the whole thing tail legs and bodys, very nice... why does it seem not many of the other hunters eat the bodys?
Seems very wasteful to me. Cheers Rich

Just proves that butter can make anything taste good!