Log books mandatory?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Paladin

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I have been diving since 1965 and I have never bothered to keep a log book. The guys I had been diving with didn't keep logs and I hadn't even heard of divers' logs until sometime in the late '70s. I just didn't see the need for one even after I learned of their existence.

Recently, a friend of mine who owns the only LDS that I will use told me that dive ops require a log book and won't let you dive from their boats without one. If this is the case, what is a diver like me supposed to do?

Book another boat? I started logging mine again when I got DiveLog for my iPhone.

Showing your log book is "proof" that you are an active diver and the types of dives you have been doing. It is not unreasonable. They don't know you. I didn't log dives for many years and thought it was no big deal. A couple of years ago when I decided I want to take more advanced training, I didn't have the logs to prove me experience.

In my experience, dive operators are more stringent with log books for those with fewer dives and with new less experienced divers. This is probably to ensure that a diver has the adequate number of dives, certification level and experience in order to dive safely in the conditions ahead of them (especially in current).