Need ideas, trip for 2, easy diving, some seclusion. .

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DustyC

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Wife and i have been to Bonaire, where we rented a nice villa on the water. We had 5 friends with us, so the romance was limited.

I'm a tech diver, she's getting OW this year. She wants somewhere other than a place she's been. And she wants to be on the water. Caribbean, Central America, or Mexico.

Big hotels don't suit us at all. I'm open to anything from a VRBO cottage on the water to a small AI like Anthony's Key.

Budget is about 3k for everything except travel.

We don't need a heavy dive schedule. 2 a day for 5 days is more than enough. She'll probably do 1 a day.

So, lay some ideas on me.

Curacao, Westpunt area. Nice rural vibe with friendly folks. We like a VRBO in Marazul. Excellent house reef and pool. Easy shore diving, nice boat dives, nice beaches. Condo has a full kitchen and outdoor grill. Pick up groceries at the modern supermarket on the way out of Willemstad. I had flipping steaks (or burgers or whatever) between dips in the pool down to an art form by the time we left. Several nice local restaurants for when you don't feel like cooking.