Oceanic VEO2 Read this if you own one.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

StayWet

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been diving this computer for about 2 years now, I like it. However, the second time I needed to change the battery and decided to also replace the compartment O-ring, (which is recommended with each battery change - though I did reuse the O-ring on the first batt change), I discovered just how seriously OVERPRICED the "battery/O-ring kits" are, that the dive retailers sell...$23 or higher for a single battery and O-ring!!!
Well...I bought the battery for $4.98 at a home improvement store, and then went to a local hardware store and got the O-ring for .48 cents!!!
Caveat emptor my dive buddies,
Caveat emptor

I've been diving this computer for about 2 years now, I like it. However, the second time I needed to change the battery and decided to also replace the compartment O-ring, (which is recommended with each battery change - though I did reuse the O-ring on the first batt change), I discovered just how seriously OVERPRICED the "battery/O-ring kits" are, that the dive retailers sell...$23 or higher for a single battery and O-ring!!!
Well...I bought the battery for $4.98 at a home improvement store, and then went to a local hardware store and got the O-ring for .48 cents!!!
Caveat emptor my dive buddies,
Caveat emptor

And how do you know if the o'ring you got for cheap is the same o'ring as the original one with the same size and specifications and won't leak?

Last edited: