Olympus C5050 or...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rr75

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I'm new to underwater photography and am looking to get my first "real" digital camera...likely to be used for both under- and above-water pictures. (I've been using disposable $10 cameras for a few months when diving and, well, I'm sick of the poor results.)

I've read through the archives, and I've seen a (whole) lot of satisfied Olympus C5050 users, enough to the point that I'm seriously considering purchasing one. I've seen some of the online links to buy the camera at a decent price. Here's my concern, though, which might be misplaced: I understand that the camera was discontinued, even though it's still available online in a few places. Was there a reason it was discontinued? Are there parts that I might need in the future that I wouldn't be able to purchase if I bought a C5050 now? (Basically, would I be buying a camera that's being made obsolete?) I'd be hoping to keep this camera for several years.

I'd originally been considering something like a Nikon 4300, which is a bit cheaper and looks solid, but got to thinking when I saw the overwhelming number of satisfied C5050 users on the board. Opinions either way, or is there something else I should be considering? (For background, I have 60 dives and am fine with the camera task-loading, and I've used friends' digital cameras above water and loved them.)