On to OW, My Odyssey Through The Pool (warning: humor enclosed)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sabbath999

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am a NOOB from northeastern Missouri. I am, I think, the NOOBist of the NOOBs. Seriously NOOB. Extremely NOOB. NOOBer than most could even imagine...

Last year, my wife (who is uber fit and extremely athletic) decided she wanted to SCUBA, and so this spring she took her PADI Open Water cert courses and passed with flying colors... she's an extremely strong swimmer, smart and with some experience she would be the person that EVERYBODY in their right mind would want as a buddy... smart, steady, careful, detail oriented, organized, strong, fit, and totally unthreatening (for those women out there who are uncomfortable with the idea of meeting up with a man at a lonely isolated place).

We travel together, and we travel a lot. Our "second home" is Kailua-Kona, so you can imagine the possibilities of that.

She loves SCUBA, but she also has a problem... what to do with ME when she is diving.

You see, until 3 weeks ago, I couldn't even swim... at all.

Nada.

Zip.

So about 3 weeks ago I came up with a cunning plan... I would learn to dive and buddy up with her!

Great idea, eh? I thought so.