Orange Filter Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sparky30

Contributor
Reaction score
Pardon my ifnorance.. I am new to underwater photography.. (Just got my housing today.. Haven't tried it yet) But what does an orange filter do? I know the water will filter out of some of the colors.. The deeper you go the more bland things get.. How does an orange filter fit into this?

I don't use filters but I would guess that orange to add some of the red hues that you lose at depth but it doesn't look natural.

If you have a good strobe, it will light the scene showing the natural colors. Remember thought that no matter how strong your strobe is, it's not going to cover past 3-4 ft away.

Dee once bubbled...
I don't use filters but I would guess that orange to add some of the red hues that you lose at depth but it doesn't look natural.

Normally I would never disagree with you Dee, but I dove with two guys that used orange filters and either no flash or just their internal and got very natural shots, at depths that surprised me. As soon as I can find the disk I brought back from FP with a set from one of the guys I will post a couple for you. I have to think that for the diver without a good external strobe (or maybe even with one..who knows) that the orange filter would be a wise investment.

Bacchus once bubbled...

Normally I would never disagree with you Dee, but I dove with two guys that used orange filters and either no flash or just their internal and got very natural shots, at depths that surprised me.