OW=license to dive or learners permit?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
When I was 16, I got my drivers license. Once I attained the license, I knew I could drive any car, on any road, at any time. I also knew that I shouldn't drive over the speed limit, I couldn't drive big rigs or motorcycles and that I should be extra cautious due to my inexperience. I was a driver.

The same year I got my license, I was OW certified. I was NOT a diver. While there was nothing to limit me in terms of the dives I could do, OW didn't qualify me to do a lot of dives which were beyond my training and experience level. Deep, penetration, solo, night, deco, heavy current and even leading a dive at a new site were really beyond my experience level.

In reality, my diving should have been pretty limited after OW. Diving with a solid, experienced diver or diving with a DM or instructor within 60' while gaining experience would have been best.

I've seen a few divers out of OW doing solo or buddying with another new diver at a new site and I always feel apprehensive when I do. It seems that some fresh OW grads see obtaining the cert as having arrived, rather than having just begun.

What limitations did you place on your diving after OW? Did you see it as a license to dive or more a permit to learn how to dive?

I couldn't drive big rigs or motorcycles and that I should be extra cautious due to my inexperience. I was a driver.