Regulator question.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

oharag

Reaction score
Okay, I'm new to diving. I have yet to purchase my equipment. I used Scubapro G250 second stage during my OW and AOW classes (I do not remember first stage).

Since getting into diving most everyone I know recommends Scubapro regulators (my instructor - because, "They can be serviced all around the world", my brother who's been diving for 2 years, and the press - Rodale's likes them). My instructor has since clarified his recommendation with, "If I were diving in the Caribbean I would go with Scubapros. If I were diving in cold water at depth I would go with Dive-Rites or Apex's." He says Dive-Rite's regulators are actually made by Apex to DR spec's. My instrcutor said that the guts of both regulators are actually the same. Is this true? He also said DR's reg are much cheaper in cost than Apex's.

What do you guys think of DR's regs?
If I purchased a RG2000 DR reg what would this be comparable to on the Apex side?
What's the deal with this Cold water issue? Are piston style 1st stages more prone to freezing than diaphragm?