Roatan reef bleaching/ health?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SCUBAJOE54

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello, all,

Newbie here. This is my first post! I spent a week diving in Roatan 22 years ago and it was wonderful. Crystal clear water, unbelievable colors in the corals, and so many beautiful fish. I've been dreaming of returning ever since then. I'm planning a trip back to Roatan (finally!) with my three daughters - ages 19, 17, and 13 to get them certified in March. I have read that the reef is now severely bleached and many of the hard corals are suffering from disease. This saddens me greatly. Has anyone been diving there recently? What can I expect? Does this mean most of the colors are gone from the corals? What about the number of colorful fish? Are some of the reefs in better shape than others? We will be staying in West Bay and will be limited to dives of 40 feet because of the 13yo.

Thank you everyone in advance for your responses.

I just dove on a couple of sites near Mahogany Bay and the bleaching was pretty bad. I'll give it a couple of recovery years before returning.

Yep, giving Roatan a couple of recovery years will allow conditions to rebound to what they were 22 years ago in 2002.

Give or take.

The rest of the Caribbean still looks like it did in 2002.

I thought most of the Caribbean suffered pretty bad bleaching this past summer. You are saying Roatan was worse than the rest of the Caribbean?