S550 question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

oleras

Reaction score
hi there, i am new to diving and just bought my first reg..mk25 first stage,plus S550 second and S550 octo.....only thing, cant really tell the difference between the second and the octo.SP catalogue says all octos are bright yellow, mine aint....i think the octo is a light grey, all plastic and the second is a dark grey with a stainless "S" in the middle....would appreciate if a dealer or someone with more knowledge could clear it up for me....thanks.

and it is all light grey and plastic. I don't know what you have with the stainless S on it. It could be an S600. Go to their website and see if you can identify it. My octo is an R190 and it is yellow. The Scuba Pro website only shows R190s and R380s as octos with the yellow covers.

Juls

thanks for the reply....both regs say "s550".....but as i said earlier look diffrent on the front covers...only difference i can see externally...just wondering if it is last years model of both ? ? just guessing.....more info-the light grey one says "viva-max-min" and the one with the stainless s says "predive and dive on the diver adjustable knob on the side......

why do you care? besides the coloring there would be no difference between the two second stages if they are both s550. a 550 octo is not a lesser 550. you just get the different color and no first stage.