Scuba VS FreeDiving Suits

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fasttom

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi, I'm new to Scuba Diving and Free Diving. Just finished my 11th open water dive over the weekend. I've been toying around with doing free diving as well. I live in San Francisco where the water is cold and need to buy a wetsuit in order to keep moving along with the hobbies. Does anybody have any feedback or knowledge about using the same wetsuit for freediving and scubadiving. I'm starting to shop around for suits and see a lot of different options.

Thanks in advance!

Tom

I do both. A 5mm freedive suit is probably warmer than most all 7 mm scuba suits. The elimination of zippers, attached hood and smooth rubber interior which minimizes water flow work together to provide a significant advantage to the freedive suits.

check out this link:

they have excellent suits and they will hold up to the repeated compression of scuba diving.

MAKO Spearguns - MAKO 2-Piece Green Aquatic Open Cell Wetsuit (5.0 mm)

DD,

Considering the advantages you mention to the free-diving suits, what are the downsides(s)? I figure there must be some or everyone would wear them?

They sure do look sleek, when you see them on freedivers (of course many freedivers would look sleek in a paper grocery bag, they're so in shape and unencumbered by gear).