SeaLife Mini II

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

NJDiverMark

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
First off, im a newb to the world of underwater photography. Idk if its just me, but my brand new Mini II seems to always take blurry pictures. I have only been able to use the camera on one dive, but almost every single picture i took came out blurry. Land pictures, underwater (dive mode), and even on the short video i took. It just never seems to focus. Is there no auto focus when the shutter button is held halfway down? Doesnt seem like it to me. The video mode shoots ok until you get relatively close to something. It will just stay blurry (out of focus). I dont expect professional results from a $220 camera but when all but one or two of my pictures come out ok, it seems kinda worthless. I am just using the camera for now. No strobes or flashes. Viz isnt great here in NJ but still. Would that cause pics like this?

022.jpg

018.jpg

011.jpg

016.jpg

The only ones that came out relatively decent were these. And even then, idk.
019.jpg

012.jpg

Here is the video. Yes i know it bumpy but when i stop to focus on the crab, i get nothing.
http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii132/ncarmyngoif4/013-1.mp4

I would definitely add a light of some sort for the next dive.

Will that solve the blurryness?

I have a few suggestions; take the ones you like and blow off the rest...

1: I don't like to see a diver with less than 50 ocean dives multi-tasking with a camera. I know that many do, but - well, be careful.